My Captain Was Lost at Sea

Abandon ship, the end is near
She’ll soon be going down I fear
We’ve done all that we could do
Far out here on the ocean blue
Man the lifeboats do it now
I hope to save them all somehow
Darkness will be upon us soon
I wait for my impending doom
Hurry now you must make haste
I wish for not one life to waste
At the ships wheel is where I’ll be
Let no one come to look for me
It shall be known I’m lost at sea
My place is with this grand lady
A captain’s life can’t be undone
As we become the setting sun

D L Ennis, Copyright © 2002

A Dapple Day

A Dapple Day

Taken on a back road in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia; on a rainy day in January…

© 2007, D L Ennis, All rights reserved.

NOTE: Permission for the use of my images is granted for personal websites and blogs but is to include a link back to this site and proper credit given to me, D L Ennis. Link to be used…(Visual Thoughts https://dlennis.wordpress.com/)

NOTE: Commercial use, and the creation of prints, must be purchased! For more information you can contact me here.

Royal Crown Cola

Royal Crown Cola

This Royal Crown Cola sign is on an old country store (no longer in operation) on a back road in Rockbridge County, Virginia; in the Blue Ridge Mountains…

© 2007, D L Ennis, All rights reserved.

NOTE: Permission for the use of my images is granted for personal websites and blogs but is to include a link back to this site and proper credit given to me, D L Ennis. Link to be used…(Visual Thoughts https://dlennis.wordpress.com/)

NOTE: Commercial use, and the creation of prints, must be purchased! For more information you can contact me here.

Beast of Bash

The wind rolls in like
Steel wheels on a rail;
Like waves on the ocean.
One behind the other,
Angrily crashing,
Upon one another,
Upon shore.
It vibrates closer,
Ever closer,
This ominous beast of bash.
Too much intensity given,
To this out of control
Element of earth’s fury.
You cringe on its approach!
And you too vibrate
In measure
With it’s force.
You run,
You hide,
O but you cannot hide,
You will not out run it.
You submit,
You must,
What else can you do?
It owns you,
You beg for mercy,
But no mercy is shown.
It is relentless in its
Pursuit of destruction!

Copyright © 2002 D L Ennis

The Periphery of Fog

The Periphery of Fog

On the crest of Thunder Ridge on the Appalachian Trail on a very foggy, misty late afternoon during the first days of spring, in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia.

© 2007, D L Ennis, All rights reserved.

NOTE: Permission for the use of my images is granted for personal websites and blogs but is to include a link back to this site and proper credit given to me, D L Ennis. Link to be used…(Visual Thoughts https://dlennis.wordpress.com/)

NOTE: Commercial use, and the creation of prints, must be purchased! For more information you can contact me here.