The Confederate Graveyard

The Confederate Graveyard

The Confederate Graveyard at the Old City Cemetery in Lynchburg, Virginia…10/17/06 An HDR image.

© 2007, D L Ennis, All rights reserved.

NOTE: Permission for the use of my images is granted for personal websites and blogs but is to include a link back to this site and proper credit given to me, D L Ennis. Link to be used…(Visual Thoughts https://dlennis.wordpress.com/)

NOTE: Commercial use, and the creation of prints, must be purchased! For more information you can contact me here.

Fast Food in Ancient Rome-Cool!

Ancient Romans Preferred Fast Food
Jennifer Viegas, Discovery NewsJune 18, 2007 — Just as a U.S. Presidential state dinner does not reflect how most Americans eat and socialize, researchers think the formal, decadent image of wining and dining in ancient Rome mostly just applied to the elite.

According to archaeologist Penelope Allison of the University of Leicester, the majority of the population consumed food “on the run.”

Allison excavated an entire neighborhood block in Pompeii, a city frozen in time after the eruption of volcano Mount Vesuvius in 79 A.D.

Historians often extend findings from Pompeii to other parts of Italy, particularly Rome, given the city’s proximity to the Roman Empire’s center.

“In many parts of the western world today, a popular belief exists that family members should sit down and dine together and, if they don’t, this may represent a breakdown of the family structure, but that idea did not originate in ancient Rome,” she told Discovery News.

You can read the rest of the story here

Waiting…

Waiting…

…on the west bound CSX train that rides these steely rails along side the James River in Bedford County Virginia; very early, foggy and cloudy, morning looking east. Since sepia, in the digital age, seems to have a life all its own and is malleable, I’ll call this sepia.

© 2007, D L Ennis, All rights reserved.

NOTE: Permission for the use of my images is granted for personal websites and blogs but is to include a link back to this site and proper credit given to me, D L Ennis. Link to be used…(Visual Thoughts https://dlennis.wordpress.com/)

NOTE: Commercial use, and the creation of prints, must be purchased! For more information you can contact me here.

Box Full of Pearls Found-Cool!

Thousands Of Pearls Found In Shipwreck Salvagers Seeking 17th Century Spanish Galleon Find Treasure In Small Lead Box

(AP) Salvagers discovered thousands of pearls in a small, lead box they said they found while searching for the wreckage of the 17th-century Spanish galleon Santa Margarita.

Divers from Blue Water Ventures of Key West said they found the sealed box, measuring 3.5 inches by 5.5 inches, Friday along with a gold bar, eight gold chains and hundreds of other artifacts earlier this week.

They were apparently buried beneath the ocean floor in approximately 18 feet of water about 40 miles west of Key West.

“There are several thousand pearls starting from an eighth of an inch to three-quarters of an inch,” said Duncan Mathewson, marine archaeologist and partner in Blue Water Ventures.

You can read the rest of the story here

“Narcissism?”

When my psychological friend said to me,
“Narcissism, this is a word that describes you.”
I asked myself, “Has he lost his mind?
He thinks I’m a flower that grew.
I cleared my throat and said to this guy
“Come on doc, you know that I’m better than that!
I’m smarter than a flower that grows in the earth,
You must be some kind of quack.
Hell, you know that I think more of myself,
That I’m probably smarter than you.”
He smiled and he said, “Narcissism,
You can’t help it,
it just happens,
It’s just how you grew.”
Well I jumped up and left, headed for home,
Calling everyone morons and fools;
“Get out of my way,” I hollered out loud,
“You’re all stupid and you think you’re so cool.”
I ran in the house grabbing Webster off the shelf,
Through open the pages to “N,”
I knew I was right,
He was wrong,
Here it is,
Oops,
On my face grew a stupid grin.
Well, I guess that I don’t have to tell you,
My body filled hastily with heat,
I could feel my face glowing bright red.
I went to my room; I lay down and thought,
“What does Webster know?
Hell, he’s probably dead.”

D L Ennis, Copyright © 2001

Post…

Post…

A torn posted sign, an old Jeep, and a field full of buttercups…taken on a back road in Bedford County, Virginia in early May.

This is a compilation of 3 subsequent exposures done in HDR. (High Dynamic Range)

© 2007, D L Ennis, All rights reserved.

NOTE: Permission for the use of my images is granted for personal websites and blogs but is to include a link back to this site and proper credit given to me, D L Ennis. Link to be used…(Visual Thoughts https://dlennis.wordpress.com/)

NOTE: Commercial use, and the creation of prints, must be purchased! For more information you can contact me here.